An update! I need to do this more often…

Now, where was I? I have lost count of all the times I have updated in my mind, unfortunately it didn’t materialise in the physical. Until now. I do hope and pray that I’ll manage to change this habit, that I’ll manage to be ok with shorter updates and not have extensively researched longer updates that I never even write because I lose myself in the gathering of data. Small updates with some links or some thoughts that I can expand on later on. Sounds good, doesn’t it?

So, what have I been up to, since my last post? Well, I’ve been at the hospital for a sonography of the blood vessels of the neck. Unfortunately all papers about Zamboni’s reseach seem to have vanished from my journal and the sonographer insisted the veins held no interest at all. Which I disagreed with, of course. I mentioned that I have already been found to have a venous reflux, which is most peculiar, and which I have been referred to the hospital for earlier, with the notion that this doesn’t seem to be right and should be checked further. Eventually he did check my veins, after repeatedly saying «but they’re fine, you’ll see. Veins are never a problem,» (but only the left internal jugular, he didn’t even get a spark of curiosity and look elsewhere), and did find the reflux, and seemed most surprised. And said I needed a CT or MRI with contrast to see what caused this. Yes, please. This is exactly what I asked the neurologist for in November. A few days later hubby called to check on the report (as I have an appointment with my GP on Friday, and want to make sure she has the report by then), ad then he wasn’t so sure he’d found any reflux at all. What? Someone must have «talked» to him, in my opinion. Why does it have to be so hard for the medical community to embrace new ideas? Why does it seem that obtaining a doctorate also means obtaining a closed mind? It’s ok to be sceptic, I don’t expect them to say «Heureka!» at every new idea that comes along, but what about saying «What if? If this is correct, what will it mean for my patients and how can I test the theory?» Instead they behave like petulant kids and refuse to even look into the data behind the new theory. It is most frustrating, especially when you sit as a pwMS (person with multiple sclerosis) and know that you have venous reflux and would like to have it checked – and the ones with the ability to check, refuse to do so because they don’t believe it has anything to say for your health. All parts of the circulatory system has to work, veins as well as arteries, and a good portion of the 17-20,000 people who’ve had angioplasties on theis veins so far, will be able to testify to that. I recently saw the update of one of my Facebook MS mates, he’s been in Frankfurt and had his stenosed veins angioplastied, and now he’s riding a bike again. For the first time in eight years. If that’s not a strong indication there’s something to this, I don’t know what it is. Unfortunately those who really need to see it probably won’t.

About thenaughtybun

Mother of two, diagnosed with MS in '94, and have been on a mission ever since. Constantly searching for the best health possible, and trying out all kinds of stuff to be able to live a good life, MS or not. My goal is to leave the MS behind, but that has yet to come (haven't given up hope, though!).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

