Jo’s bag

A couple of weeks ago I had a fun project. A friend from London came visiting, and on Monday we went to Klässbols linen weavery. Great fun, and the looms were running. Those things have an amazing rhythm! I was walking around totally absorbed by the sound, hearing all kinds of music. In the shop we found a lovely 2nd grade table runner. I have no idea what was wrong with it, maybe the width was wrong or something. Very graphic and great start for a bag. As it was a 2nd, it was pretty cheap.

During the week, in between shopping and chats and walks and meals and concerts I constructed a bag. That is, thought it out, and made all the parts.

Sunday morning this is what I had.

image

Here it’s coming together. I made a key ring to attach to the key fob.

image

My Bernina is amazing! She chugged through all these layers without complaining.

image

No pics from the final construction, but here is the final result on the recipient’s shoulder. With leather straps hand sewn in place. I’m quite happy with the result, I might just have to make more…

image

In the two weeks that have passed since the bag was finished it has got a lot of wear, and I’m happy to say that the recipient is rather pleased with it. All the pockets and the amount of structure incorporated makes a very useful and easily organised bag. Woot! I’m chuffed to bits.

I need a new trip to Klässbols, I think.

About thenaughtybun

Mother of two, diagnosed with MS in '94, and have been on a mission ever since. Constantly searching for the best health possible, and trying out all kinds of stuff to be able to live a good life, MS or not. My goal is to leave the MS behind, but that has yet to come (haven't given up hope, though!).
This entry was posted in design, sewing, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Jo’s bag

  1. nyxynook says:

    That’s fabulous!

  2. Jo Metivier says:

    Beautiful pics for a beautiful bag.

  3. felicia says:

    Wow. I’m impressed. What a great bag!

    • Thank you! I’m being told it’s great to use, the shoulder straps stay put, so I guess not having enough leather for wider ones was a strike of luck. 😀 And I learned something…

  4. Julia says:

    This looks really nice! Your so good at making bags!

    • Thank you! I do love it, but I am a bit ad hoc in my approach. Working to improve that! Which would make me more efficient, and that can only be a good thing imo.

  5. Oh, I love it ! The colors, the size, the construction – so beautifully done!

  6. suth2 says:

    A beautiful bag. You are so clever to make such an intricate bag.

Leave a Reply

