MS and gluten is a crap combination

At least it is for me. A month ago I started eating gluten, after having been without for six years, to trigger a reaction that could be measured by blood test. Almost immeadiately I sensed changes in my body. The first was water retention. I ended up having to remove my rings, as they become way too tight. I gained with with an amazing speed, but thankfully it levelled out (still, I fear it will be hard work to get those kgs off again), I got eye pain, headache, hipache, more stumbling and unsteadiness than I’ve ever had (and a souvenir mega scrape on my right knee to remember how it feels to have no idea where your feet are or what they do). I got itching – gods I’ve been itching like mad all over – and I’ve been so, so tired. Ridiculously tired. Zonked out like woah. With brain fog and forgetfulness. Really, it’s been crap.

A week ago I had the blood test, and since then I’ve been avoiding gluten like it is the plague. The eye pain is gone, as is the swelling – my rings are back on. But I’m just as unsteady. I get sudden “releases” in my hips, like they don’t want to hold me up, often while walking the stairs. Thankfully those releases last a fraction of a second, but it both hurts and scares. I really, definitely, absolutely, passionately do NOT want to fall down the stairs. Or, as things should be stated in the positive (as the subconscious is apparently unable to hear a negation), I really, definitely, absolutely, passionately want to walk down stairs with complete ease and grace. Actually, I would love to run and jump and skip carefree from boulder to boulder like I did in my childhood. To begin with I’d be happy to feel safe in the stairs. And lose weight (despite some loss of fluid, I’ve not lost any weight). At least I’m no longer itching like mad.

So, to those of you who read this and wonder if there is anything in all the gluten talk, is it as bad as people say: If you wonder, and you have some health issues, I’d suggest one thing: try it! Try being totally gluten free for three months and see what happens. Make notes of how you feel now, and compare. When I quit gluten I went though horrid withdrawal symptoms and had to remove everything that had gluten in it from the house. I would sleep walk to the bread bin to grab a slice and stand there finishing off my snack and wonder what was going on. Ridiculous. After three weeks I was out of it, thank goodness. Now I don’t care, I really don’t want anything with gluten in it.

About thenaughtybun

Mother of two, diagnosed with MS in '94, and have been on a mission ever since. Constantly searching for the best health possible, and trying out all kinds of stuff to be able to live a good life, MS or not. My goal is to leave the MS behind, but that has yet to come (haven't given up hope, though!).
This entry was posted in Health, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to MS and gluten is a crap combination

  1. Pia says:

    Yikes, what an ordeal to go through. It really doesn’t matter what the blood test says, does it, you know the truth for you.

    • It’s only that there seems to be more stuff going on, and things may be linked, so it would be good to know. I had no idea it would be this bad…

  2. ginnyksews says:

    Yes, our diet plays the only leading role in our health. I have three auto-immune diseases and which, of course, are fueled by inflammation. What causes inflation? Tons of foods. The list of what to avoid is 3X longer than the foods to only eat. The one thing I have learned about auto-immune and in particular MS is that with life styles changing to going to controlled temperature rooms to controlled temperature rooms our bodies are not absorbing Vit D like decades ago. So I say try boosting your Vit D daily intake to help with strength ing your immune system and all those blood cells, build up bone strength too. I take 1,000 iu daily, as well as, a daily multi vitamin.
    Sorry for typos, my eyes are burning (inflammation) so relying on my typing skills to get this post written. Thank goodness for that 125 wpm skill!
    Take care of yourself, listen to your body, and increase your Vit D.

    • I take LOADS of vitamin D. 10,000 iu daily, with k2 and magnesium. And turmeric and olive leaf and quercetin and… I don’t remember it all.
      It is true, food is our best medicine, and the only thing that can truly heal us – but at times it’s nice to get some help. I’ve just started with ldn, and if nothing else, at least it’s made manage to actually do something. Woot!

Leave a Reply

