Finally a finished project

Actually, it’s two. One scarf and one blanket, both knitted, both for my daughter. She picked out the colours for the scarf, so she knew about that one, but the blanket was a surprise for her 18th birthday. It was knit as two halves, to get identical ends, and masked together in the middle.

Masking in progress

It becomes pretty invisible, here all that’s left is to remove the wires holding the masks.

The final blanket is about 2m long, enough to cover the recipient.

The scarf is 1.8 m long, and so soft! No wonder, as it’s alpaca wool. I might just have to make more…

About thenaughtybun

Mother of two, diagnosed with MS in '94, and have been on a mission ever since. Constantly searching for the best health possible, and trying out all kinds of stuff to be able to live a good life, MS or not. My goal is to leave the MS behind, but that has yet to come (haven't given up hope, though!).
This entry was posted in creativity, design and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Finally a finished project

  1. Chic Mona says:

    Wow, those are lovely Berte! Beautiful colours.

  2. Those are gorgeous makes. Congrats on having two finishes! I’m sure your daughter will be delighted with them 🙂

  3. They are very pretty! Congratulations on your finishes
    Terry

  4. Oh those look so soft! Just lovely!

  5. anumrinal says:

    Lovely knits! that scarf looks so pretty. Knitting a blanket.. I am not sure I can do that.. lovely border and what a beautiful colour!!
    Thanks for stopping by my blog; lovely to know you 🙂

    • Awww, thank you! You know, that blanket was quite easy. Fairly thick needles, and two wools (one fluffy), so it grew quickly. The border is the same as I have on a stole I knitted years ago – the first lace I attempted.
      Cheers!

  6. Wow – these are both so professional. And I just had another look at “Jo’s bag”. Your work is really exceptional. Lovely to have such talent in several areas. Thanks for sharing.

  7. ginnyksews says:

    I only loom knit. I tend to need to do 4-6 things at once so I get lost remembering to mark things so I can pick it up. Your creations are beautiful.

  8. felicia says:

    That blanket is gorgeous. Wow.

  9. annina-g says:

    Love both projects and especially the colour combination for the scarf. Well done!

  10. man! So pretty! I have tried so many times to knit something…usable. I spend all of my time knit, unravel, knit, unravel. I do save on yarn that way, but I envy you 🙂

  11. Good on you, making such nice things for your daughter! In my case, often it’s me learning from my daughter instead. Well done.

  12. angkr says:

    So lovely! I can sew quite well but not really knit, these are gorgeous.

Leave a Reply

