Papercuts

I guess most of us have made some versions of these over the years – at least in school. In my family we didn’t use standard paper, we used tissue paper instead. Cutting in the beggining of December, unfolding the “snowflakes” and leaving them in a big book to be pressed for a week or two, then gluing them to the window. Where they’d stay a month or two, until they would be washed off. It’s been a rather lovely art-in-the-moment. I’ve enjoyed cutting these, and I found quite early I had a talent for making these. Over the years I’ve made quite a few – and have sent them to both friends and family all over. The only problem being that I got complaints – how  can I save these? I don’t want to destroy them! Too bad, I said, that’s just the nature of these. They’re very temporary art. Eventually my sweet hubby had had enough of these complaints and bought a laminator. So now I’m cutting, finger-pressing open, then ironing them to remove the creases as much as possible before I laminate them. Then I cut them out free-hand. And finally I punch holes and link them together or add beads and make ornaments – though the latter I only do with the small ones.

I really enjoy making heads, there’s always been princes and princesses on my mum’s windows for christmas. This is a smallish one, 13 cm Ø.

Every year I end up with a new design, this leafy flower is this year’s.

Now all I need to do is to find out how to set up shop, because there is a limit to how many we – or mum – need.

About thenaughtybun

Mother of two, diagnosed with MS in '94, and have been on a mission ever since. Constantly searching for the best health possible, and trying out all kinds of stuff to be able to live a good life, MS or not. My goal is to leave the MS behind, but that has yet to come (haven't given up hope, though!).
This entry was posted in craft, creativity, design, paper art, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Papercuts

  1. beautiful. Made me smile.
    Thanks for the inspiration.

  2. painterswife says:

    These are lovely – beautifully done!

  3. These are gorgeous. Very different to the solid looking ones I used to make out of A4 paper!

  4. Sheryll says:

    These are lovely, and what a fabulous idea to laminate them! After five or so years mine were getting tatty and I finally threw them out this year. You’ve inspired me to make some more!

  5. Fiona says:

    What a great idea, these are lovely!

  6. Gorgeous! You should open an Etsy store—I bet you’d do well.

  7. knit1make2 says:

    The delicacy and accuracy of your cutting is amazing! How lovely πŸ™‚

  8. felicia says:

    Wow, these are lovely. I’d recommend you try to sell them. Where I live, the higher the price, the more things sell. I know, I know, it’s crazy.

    • Thank you! I am going to make an effort this year – I’ve folded a couple hundred paper pieces for cutting already. Guess this is the answer to a question I asked myself today: what to make now? As in, I need an easy to carry project to bring to church while I listen to my son rehearse the organ (just finished a knitted blanket). I can bring paper and scissors… πŸ˜ƒ

      • felicia says:

        Good idea. And how priviledged you are to get to listen to live organ rehearsals. Nothing like a massive set of pipes.

Leave a Reply

