LDN

In November I started LDN, or Low Dose Naltrexone. It’s an opiate antagonist, it blocks the cells’ opiate receptors, and is used in very low doses to treat auto immune diseases like MS, which is my reason for taking it. The idea is that by blocking the opiate receptors the cells think there are no endorphines circulating and ask for increased production. This means you up your endorphin levels, which again is said to help regulate the immune system. 

I got a tremendous boost when I started, suddenly I had the energy need to tidy a horrendous mess in the basement, for instance. It was brilliant, and we all looked forward to the completion of loads of projects around here. Hah! After two weeks the fun was over and I got an increase in MS symptoms instead. More numbness, to the degree that I am not sure where my right leg is or what it does anymore. So, you’d think that I could just stop taking LDN, after all it doesn’t work? Well, that’s not so easy. I forgot my LDN one night, and let me tell you – both the next day and the following were a total, complete, living nightmare. Absolutely hellish. I feel trapped between a rock and a hard place. 

Cue internet research. Finally I found a forum where this was discussed – the rare few who have an adverse reaction to LDN. According to the good doctor (who has since died, unfortunately), patients with an adverse reaction have Candida overgrowth, but when this is treated they respond well to LDN. Long story short, I have had two weeks with 100 mg Diflucan (not the treatment suggested), but has it helped? Nope. Drat, drat, drat. And my holistic GP who prescribed the LDN does not feel that more medication is the way to go. Not even the treatment suggested. Now, I don’t hanker for medication per se – but I’d love to feel better! Those first days were amazing, but is that all I’m going to get? If anybody has any experience in this or has some research papers I should read – don’t hesitate to tell me! 

About thenaughtybun

Mother of two, diagnosed with MS in '94, and have been on a mission ever since. Constantly searching for the best health possible, and trying out all kinds of stuff to be able to live a good life, MS or not. My goal is to leave the MS behind, but that has yet to come (haven't given up hope, though!).
This entry was posted in Health, LDN, MS, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to LDN

  1. Pia says:

    I hope you find something to battle the Candida. What WAS suggested if not the diflucan?

    • Had to dig a bit, at the ldn forum, found 200mg fluconazol twice daily – that’s diflucan, albeit 4x the dose I took. And for three weeks… Might have had a better effect? There was something else as well, which my GP said was not an anti fungal, but I don’t remember what.

      • Pia says:

        That’s a massive dose – I wonder if it’s “imaginary” (as did your doctor apparently). I know there are dietary regimens too for candida, but apart from skipping sugar, again, I don’t remember.

      • Pia says:

        It’s quite remarkable the short lived effect you did get from the other medication before crashing!

      • It is, and I am a tad disappointed that my GP didn’t feel like continuing the treatment, because the point wasn’t to eradicate candida as such, but to make sure I got a positive effect from the LDN. Before I started I took a stool test and got max score on amount of yeast… So there’s no doubt it’s there.

      • Pia says:

        Frustrating!

      • Pia says:

        If you do have another energy flash some time though – try to do only half of what you feel capable of, with breaks BEFORE you get tired. You need to ease in to it. Ask me how I know: I did the exact opposite for years and years. Nope, stubborness doesn’t cure fatigue, I managed to prove that at least.

      • Thank you! No, stubbornness does not cure fatigue – I’ve managed to prove that as well. 😃 Thanks, Pia. I needed to hear that. ❤

  2. frankeber says:

    I sure hope you can beat this! All my best to you.

    • Thank you! Starting a wider, holistic candida treatment soon (just need to get the needed herbs and tinctures, hoping they won’t be stopped at the border), and then FMT treatment (fecal microbiota transplant) in July. I have big hopes for that one. And by jove I’d love to feel like myself again. Then there would be more art in my life!

  3. thebiasedge says:

    Just said a prayer for you. Hope you get better.

Leave a Reply

