Sketching challenge

Yesterday I was listening to an interview with Caroline Myss on YouTube, and when I listen to webinars/interviews/some such thing, I need something mindless to occupy me to keep my body from fidgeting. I’ve been knitting a lot while listening, but the shawl I’m knitting right now demands too much as I haven’t landed the pattern yet. And so I’ve been playing patience, which is fun but frustratingly unproductive and usually shows how much pain I’m in, more than anything else. Grabbing a deck of cards is a good way to distract myself from pain, as I don’t need to think. So I decided to grab my mini bloc of sketching paper. I used to draw constantly, but after my MS forced me from art/design school I found it very hard to pick up a pencil again. Or a brush or chalk or whatever. On one hand, my creativity is inextricably linked to who I am, and as far as I am able to discern I have more than one archetype linked to creativity. On the other hand, pursuing creativity as a career produced so much stress that I became horrendously ill, and I exited my dream education by way of a 2 1/2 week stay in hospital. Somehow that experience made a link in my subconscious between being creative and becoming seriously sick. Fast forward 21 years, I am now a mum with two kids that are growing up beautifully, and I have done a lot of inner work to clear all these crap links. Because, far from becoming ill by being creative, the opposite is true. If I don’t create, I become ill. And I yearn to get back to drawing and to develop as an artist. With parenting being less time consuming – babies and toddlers eat you whole, teens not so much – I think it’s time to seriously pursue my creativity again. Which brings me back to the beginning of this post, listening to Caroline Myss. Instead of grabbing the deck of cards I grabbed my miniature Grand Bloc. 10×10 cm. Perfect size for non-threatening sketching. 

She was talking about grace, and the need to embody this, so I drew the word and added some hears and naïve flowers. 


Then the theme became destiny, and I drew that word. 

And that was it. Yesterday, that is. This morning I sat down and decided I needed to find more words to draw, so I drew “vennlig” which is Norwegian for friendly.

No more words yet, because I realised I needed to challenge myself. I need to draw at least one word daily, but preferably more. Will five be to many? Maybe I should settle for three? And maybe I should also grab a pen and ink the outlines before colouring. Who knows. Anyway, the thing is, that being as rusty as I am I have to make sure I allow myself time to build up my stamina. So maybe only one to three drawings a day. Quick pencil sketch only. So, as we’re on the last day of May, let this be my goal for June. Daily doodles of a word or phrase. And posting to instagram @windingsorensen daily, with weekly updates here. That should be doable, though my belly tells me it’s not so sure. Fingers crossed! Wish me luck, and if you have a word or (short) phrase you’d like me to work with, feel free to add it to the comments.

About thenaughtybun

Mother of two, diagnosed with MS in '94, and have been on a mission ever since. Constantly searching for the best health possible, and trying out all kinds of stuff to be able to live a good life, MS or not. My goal is to leave the MS behind, but that has yet to come (haven't given up hope, though!).
This entry was posted in creativity, Health, MS, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Sketching challenge

  1. Pia says:

    Actually I’m going to be a bit of a party pooper here. “challenge myself. I need to draw at least one word daily, but preferably more.” Yeah, THAT, and not the creativity is what makes us ill. The demand on yourself. I suggest doing this and aiming at picking up your pad every day for sure, but no numbers, no deadlines, and no regrets if you skip a day. If a day is difficult, instead of pushing, colour in the drawings you already made. “Challenge” is part of your old programming, are you ready to see the word in a new light that makes it a synonym to “FUN”?

    • Touché. 😆 I don’t mind this kind of party pooping. The thing is, it’s just too easy to do nothing. Three mini sketches a day is a far cry from what I did at college. And of course, it wasn’t the drawing that did me in, but the ridiculous amount of stress.
      I’ll keep your words in mind, but I hope one month of maybe 30 min sketching in the morning can revive what was once a vibrant part of life, because I do miss it.

      • Pia says:

        It’s a balance. And the same thing done with two different mindsets can have vastly different effects.

        The good thing is that you miss it – so that’s a step in the right direction.

        På dansk siger vi: “Det er lysten som driver værket”.

      • True. I’m no longer aiming for best in class. 😃😎
        Og jeg er helt enig! Og ulysten stopper det gjerne…

      • Pia says:

        Jeg er spændt på, hvad der sker med min krop under eller efter min 21 dages IG udfordring… Og så har jeg forresten nyligen købt en lille 10×10 skitsebog også! Tænkte øve blind contour eller noget. Men endnu er siderne helt tomme…

      • 10×10 er en deilig størrelse, man fyller den så fort, selv om man tegner smått og detaljrikt.

  2. Enjoyed your post. I too listen to Caroline Myss (lots of her recorded CD’s on my shelf). And I’m half Norwegian and can read it a little. Klem!

  3. Barbara says:

    Oh wow, welcome back, I’m so glad you are creating again. I will think of a word for you, and I may even join you in your idea. I create all the time, but my drawing skills need lots of work. First I will make a 10cm x 10cm sketchbook to work in, I like the idea of the small size.

  4. Barbara says:

    Hi thank you for the follow – as promised I thought of a word that is often in my mind ‘Peace’ – perhaps you could use that for one of your daily sketches.

    • Funny that, I thought of the same word this morning – but I had done my three. So I might just use that tomorrow. It’ll percolate all day, so it will be interesting to see what it ends up as.

      • Barbara says:

        I have made a start on my word sketches. I’m not very good at it, but the small size – I chose 5″ x 5″ does help quite a lot. I keep trying to make things perfect instead of letting it flow, but I do like the idea a lot and surely I will improve with time.

      • I found setting a time limit helps with the tendency towards perfectionism. I think of these as ideas that I can get back to later. I do want to make a larger umbrelliferae drawing, for instance. With loads of tiny umbrellas. Maybe even umbrella harvest? 😆
        So keep it up! You’ll soon have a catalogue of ideas.

Leave a Reply

